Do you know how Pickvisa works? Learn now
Baba AghayevBaba Aghayev 15 JULY 2019 914 views 1 min. read

The walk of fame

914 views 1 min. read

Hollywood Boulevard comprises star marble monuments with the name of the more than 2,600 stars. The first five-point star appeared on the streets of Hollywood in 1958.

Every year, more than 10 million tourists visit Los Angeles to see these stars on the ground. The stars are given according to the five categories: Film, Live performance, Radio, Television, and Music.

Gene Autry is the only person awarded with stars in all five categories. Thomas Edison was awarded star monument as the creator of the first film projector, and Ray Bradbury for his contribution to the motion picture.

Only one of these stars, the symbol of Muhammad Ali is on the wall of Dolby (formerly Kodak) Theatre, the venue of the annual Academy Awards ceremony. The reason for this was the personal will of Muhammad Ali, who did not want the name of prophet to be stepped on.

Each star owner should attend the award ceremony. This is a requirement. So far, only Barbra Streisand has not participated in the presentation of her star.

For the name of any star to appear on this Walk of Fame, he/she must be nominated by another person (fan, fan club or any other company). The nominee must have at least five years of experience in that star category. The panel of judges analyzes the nominees and selects 20-24 winners every year. The nominee will pay 40,000 USD if elected. If the chosen person does not accept the participation in the award ceremony in the next two years, the selection will be canceled.

Surprisingly, for some reasons, stars such as Leonardo DiCaprio, Brad Pitt, Angelina Jolie, Clint Eastwood, and Jennifer Connelly don’t have five-star marble monuments in the Walk of Fame.


Share on

Baba Aghayev Traveler

A traveler. Amateur Climber. Entrepreneur. As of 2020, he has explored 57 countries on 6 continents. He waved the Azerbaijani flag on the highest peaks and volcanoes of Europe, Africa, Australia and South America. He plans to complete the global "7 Summits" and "7 Volcanoes" programs. He has climbed to such peaks as Kilimanjaro, Elbrus, Damavand, Kosciuszko, Aconcagua, La Malinche, Orisaba, Babadag. In 2020, he climbed to the last peak from the list of "7 Summits": Aconcagua (6961 m) in Argentina, the highest point on the American continent. In 2020, he also climbed to the last peak from the list of "7 Volcanoes": Orisaba (5636 m) in Mexico, the highest volcano in North America.

His hobbies are Numismatics and Bonistics.

All blogs